Which states require harassment training?
REsource

Which states require harassment training?

The Facts

institution
EMPLOYEE AND FACULTY POPULATION (FTE)
Population
get IMpactly products
process
Role IN Evaluation
previous vendor
Why they left

Q&A

As of April 2019, the following states require anti-harassment training: California, New York State, New York City, Delaware, Connecticut, Maine, Washington, D.C.

Below you'll find a brief summary of their respective mandates. Click on the corresponding link for an expanded summary.

California Anti-Harassment Training Requirements:

Deadline: All employees must be trained by January 1, 2020
Employers affected: All employers with at least 5 employees
Who must be trained: All employees
Frequency: Every 2 years
Duration of the training:

  • 2 hours of training to all supervisory employees
  • 1 hour of training to all non-supervisory employees

Deadline for new employees: Within 6 months of the employee’s assumption of either a supervisory or non-supervisory position.

New York State Anti-Harassment Training Requirements:

Effective: October 9, 2018.
Deadline: Existing employees must complete training by October 9, 2019.
Employers affected: All employers
Who must be trained: All employees
Frequency: Annually
Duration of the training: Not specified
Deadline for new employees: As employers may be liable for the actions of employees immediately upon hire, the State encourages training as soon as possible.

New York City Anti-Harassment Training Requirements:

Effective: April 1, 2019
Employers affected: All employers with 15 or more employees
Who must be trained: All employees
Deadline: See New York State
Frequency: Annually
Duration of the program: Not specified
Deadline for new employees: As employers may be liable for the actions of employees immediately upon hire, NYC encourages training as soon as possible.

NYC requires employers to keep a record of all training, including a signed employee acknowledgment, which may be electronic. Employers must maintain the records for three years and such records must be made available for commission inspection upon request.

Washington, D.C. Anti-Harassment Training Requirements:

Effective: December 13, 2018.
Deadline: Existing employees must complete training by December 12, 2020.
Employers affected: Businesses who employ tipped employees (as defined by DC law).
Who must be trained: All employees (and owners). Training for managers must be in-person.
Frequency: Every 2 years. And within 90 days from commencement of employment, unless the new employee has received training in the past 2 years.
Duration: No requirement.

Delaware Anti-Harassment Training Requirements>>

Connecticut Anti-Harassment Training Requirements>>

Maine Anti-Harassment Training Requirements>>

Contact us
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.